Fifth Form

The Peponi curriculum goals are to support all pupils to realise their full potential, academically, athletically, pastorally and socially. It is expected that this will be achieved through the provision of a number of academic options that provide excellent instruction, assessment, tracking and evaluating of all pupils.

The academic life of Peponi is guided by two key principles: to educate pupils to know as broadly, and to think as independently and incisively as possible. By such means we push to achieve the best possible examination results for each pupil.

The International GCSE or rather IGCSE first came about in 1988 and has since been internationally recognised, available in over 120 countries around the world, with over 70 subjects on offer for study, including many languages. It has been permitted in state schools since 2010 as an alternative to the traditional GCSE examination.

GCSE’s were first introduced in 1986 by combining the ‘O’ Level and CSE exams together and making coursework a part of the overall assessment.

Some new IGCSEs will be graded 9–1, rather than A*–G. Grade 9 is the highest grade, set above the current A*. The new system is intended to help provide more differentiation, especially among higher achieving pupils. 

Peponi School, has, for the last 25 years enjoyed success with International General Certificate Secondary Education (IGCSE) examinations. These courses are the international version of external examinations taken by virtually all pupils in the English education system at the end of Year 11, usually when they are sixteen years old. For the majority of Peponi pupils the examination results are used by universities as a very important indicator of an applicant’s abilities. Therefore, making the right decision at this stage will affect future options.

It is advisable that pupils maintain as broad an education as they can for as long as they can. IGCSE offers both the breadth and depth required in order to attain this.

Every Peponi pupil will take as his or her core IGCSE course examinations the following subjects:

  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Science (for all pupils this is taught as separate subjects by specialist teachers, but leads to two certificates; however more able pupils may have the chance to complete examination in each of the three sciences, therefore gaining three certificates)
  • A Modern Foreign Language

Pupils are placed in single sex tutor groups in both years 10 and 11. Our tutors are teachers at the School and provide outstanding pastoral support in order to ensure that our pupils realise their full potential in their IGCSEs. Each tutor meets their pupils everyday and monitors their progress throughout their IGCSE years. Our tutors take both an academic and pastoral role in their tutees lives communicating with parents four times a term to provide effort and grade reports and describe progress.

Claire Nightingale
Head of Years 10 & 11

  • edexcel
  •    HMC - Leading Independent Schools
  •   School Inspection Service
  •              University of Cambridge International Examinations