Discovery & Learning

The academic life of Peponi is guided by two key principles: to educate pupils to know as broadly, and to think as independently and incisively as possible. We work to enable our pupils to achieve their academic ambitions, and to develop the qualities and insight needed to become leaders of the future. 

Peponi is not an academically selective school, however, academic rigour and a love of learning is core to achieving the aims of the School. Teachers aim to develop, through high expectations, the potential of every pupil. Pupils learn what is needed to prepare fully for public examinations and are expected to aim high, and attend universities overseas.

The School is a learning community, where teachers and pupils alike, aspire to foster a love of learning and understanding. Both the curricular and cocurricular provisions are seen as important elements to reach our aims and are required to achieve life long learning. We place learning at our core as a means to meeting individual goals. 

Peponi offers a rich and rewarding curriculum for pupils from 13 years of age to 18. Like many British schools around the world, we follow the English National Curriculum for England and Wales.

The National Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’. Shell ( Year 9 pupils aged between 13 and 14) marks the end of Key Stage 3, with the Peponi curriculum emphasising breadth and links between subjects. Every pupil studies the same wide range of subjects including two modern languages. Current affairs, ethics, politics, as wells as Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural (SMSC) education are delivered through timetabled Religious Studies and Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) sessions, as well as being integrated into the core subjects and values of the School.

Lower Fifth (Years 10) and Upper Fifth (Year 11 Key Stage 4; pupils aged between 14 and 16) constitute a two-year cycle during which pupils prepare for IGCSE examinations (International General Certificate of Secondary Education). Pupils carry on with ten subjects, six of which are the compulsory core subjects: English Language and Literature, Mathematics and the three Sciences. Other optional subjects include: History, Geography, Business Studies, Religious Studies, ICT, the Modern Foreign Languages, Music, Art and Design and Physical Education (PE).

Following successful results in IGCSE examinations pupils move into the Sixth Form (Key Stage 5) and take Advanced Levels (A Levels). A Levels constitute another two-year cycle and are highly specialised. Pupils will normally study four subjects in the first year and three in the second. The choice of subjects depends upon a pupil’s likely course at university, and likely future career. At Peponi we offer a choice of 20 different subjects allowing pupils to specialise by taking closely clustered subjects from within one faculty area, or retain a broad interest by mixing subjects from different faculty areas.

Ken Winstanley

Director of Studies

  • edexcel
  •    HMC - Leading Independent Schools
  •   School Inspection Service
  •              University of Cambridge International Examinations